Looking for stats?

Yankees SS Gleyber Torres Wins Joe Black MVP Award

November 19, 2016 - Arizona Fall League (AzFL) News Release

Scottsdale, Arizona - Scottsdale Scorpions shortstop Gleyber Torres (Yankees) is the recipient of the Arizona Fall League's 2016 Joe Black MVP Award.

The youngest MVP in Fall League history at 19 years of age, Torres, who hails from Caracas, VEN, led the AFL in batting (.403) and on-base percentage (.513).

He also ranked second in slugging percentage (.645) and fifth in total bases (40).

He was acquired by the Yankees on July 25, 2016 in a trade that sent 2011 Phoenix Desert Dog closer Aroldis Chapman to the Chicago Cubs.

The 6-1, 175-pound Torres currently is ranked as MLB.com's No. 17 overall prospect and No. 2 among Yankee prospects.

Torres is a three-year professional. He owns a .282 batting average in 301 games with 16 home runs, 163 RBI and 53 stolen bases.

He divided his 2016 season between High-A Myrtle Beach (Cubs) and High-A Tampa (Yankees). He hit a composite .270 with 11 homers, 66 RBI and 21 stolen bases.

Other Nominees - Other nominated players were Mesa Solar Sox third baseman Brian Anderson (Marlins), Glendale Desert Dogs1B Cody Bellinger (Dodgers), Salt River Rafters OF Jacoby Jones (Tigers), Peoria Javelinas shortstop Zach Vincej (Reds) and Surprise Saguaros OF Eric Wood (Pirates).

Joe Black MVP Award - The Arizona Fall League did not select an MVP during its first 10 seasons. In 2002, the league created the Joe Black Most Valuable Player Award, named after former big league pitcher Joe Black, the 1952 National League rookie of the year.

Arizona Fall League Joe Black Most Valuable Player Award Recipients 2016 - Gleyber Torres (Yankees), SS, Scottsdale Scorpions 2015 - Adam Engel (White Sox), CF, Glendale Desert Dogs 2014 - Greg Bird (Yankees), 1B, Scottsdale Scorpions 2013 - Kris Bryant (Cubs), 3B, Mesa Solar Sox 2012 - Chris McGuiness (Rangers), 1B, Surprise Saguaros 2011 - Nolan Arenado (Rockies), 3B, Salt River Rafters 2010 - Dustin Ackley (Mariners), 2B, Peoria Javelinas 2009 - Grant Desme (Athletics), OF, Phoenix Desert Dogs 2008 - Tommy Hanson (Braves), RHP, Mesa Solar Sox 2007 - Sam Fuld (Cubs), OF, Mesa Solar Sox 2006 - Chip Cannon (Blue Jays), 1B, Phoenix Desert Dogs 2005 - Eric Duncan (Yankees), 3B, Grand Canyon Rafters 2004 - Chris Shelton (Tigers), DH, Grand Canyon Rafters 2003 - Jason Dubois (Cubs), OF, Mesa Solar Sox 2002 - Ken Harvey (Royals), 1B, Scottsdale Scorpions - afl - Scottsdale Stadium

• Discuss this story on the Arizona Fall League message board...

Arizona Fall League Stories from November 19, 2016

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.