NFL, MLB, CFL stats

 Western Hockey League

Western Hockey League Announces Lethbridge Hurricanes General Manager Peter Anholt as Recipient of Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

May 8, 2020 - Western Hockey League (WHL) News Release

Calgary, Alta. - The Western Hockey League announced today Peter Anholt, General Manager of the Lethbridge Hurricanes, as the recipient of the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy (WHL Executive of the Year).

In his fifth full season as General Manager of the Hurricanes, Anholt was the architect of a Club that skated to a 37-19-2-5 record through 63 games. The Hurricanes placed third in the WHL's Central Division and were competitive among the top teams in the WHL's Eastern Conference. The performance marked the Hurricanes' fifth-straight season of 30 or more victories, one behind tying the Club record.

Powering them to success were a number of new and familiar faces for the Hurricanes as well as the southern Alberta region. Anholt's selection of Slovakian forward Oliver Okuliar at the 2019 CHL Import Draft boosted the Hurricanes' scoring prowess, while the addition of former Hurricane Brett Davis helped to strengthen the Hurricanes down the stretch. Anholt also acquired Dino Kambeitz to provide more offensive options for his group.

Finally, Anholt has built local ties through the WHL Bantam Draft, selecting Lethbridge products Zack Stringer and Erick Roest to complement the team's promising future.

The Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy honours a WHL Club Executive for their contributions to their team's overall performance on and off the ice during the WHL Regular Season.

A famed Canadian sports broadcaster, Saunders became known as the radio voice of the Canadian Football League's Saskatchewan Roughriders. As a commentator and broadcaster, Saunders became the voice of Canadian sport nationally and internationally. Saunders called six Memorial Cup Championships and predominantly called Canadian and World Curling Championships as well. He also commentated at five Olympic Games as well as three Commonwealth Games.

In 1986, Saunders was inducted to Canadian Football Hall of Fame and Museum, Football Reporters of Canada wing. In 1996, he was inducted to the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame as a builder.

RUNNER UP: Matt Bardsley, Kamloops Blazers

Winners of the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy / WHL Executive of the Year Award (since 2000):

2018-19: Curtis Hunt, Prince Albert Raiders

2017-18: Garry Davidson, Everett Silvertips

2016-17: John Paddock, Regina Pats

2015-16: Peter Anholt, Lethbridge Hurricanes

2014-15: Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon Wheat Kings

2013-14: Cam Hope, Victoria Royals

2012-13: Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings

2011-12: Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings

2010-11: Lorne Molleken, Saskatoon Blades

2009-10: Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon Wheat Kings

2008-09: Kelly Kisio, Calgary Hitmen

2007-08: Bob Tory, Tri-City Americans

2006-07: Bob Tory, Tri-City Americans

2005-06: Scott Bonner, Vancouver Giants

2004-05: Jeff Chynoweth, Kootenay ICE

2003-04: Kelly Kisio, Calgary Hitmen

2002-03: Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets

2001-02: Brad McEwen, Swift Current Broncos

2000-01: Brent Sutter, Red Deer Rebels

1999-00: Tim Speltz, Spokane Chiefs

• Discuss this story on the Western Hockey League message board...

Western Hockey League Stories from May 8, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central