Looking for stats?

USL Reveals 2018 Conference Alignment

January 12, 2018 - United Soccer League (USL) - Louisville City FC News Release

Thirty-Three Teams Across Two Conferences Feature in New Season

TAMPA - The United Soccer League today announced its conference alignment for the 2018 USL regular season. The league will feature 33 teams across two conferences for the upcoming season, with an even greater group of regional rivalries featuring across both conferences in the new year as the league's regular season expands to 34 games.

The conferences will be split geographically, with 16 teams in the Eastern Conference and 17 teams in the Western Conference. One team, Saint Louis FC, has moved to the Western Conference for the new season, where it will join expansion clubs Las Vegas Lights FC and Fresno FC in the battle for a place in the USL Cup Playoffs this season.

The Eastern Conference will welcome four new teams this season, with ATL UTD 2, Indy Eleven, Nashville SC and North Carolina FC joining the conference. The addition of Indy and Nashville adds to a strong pocket of clubs in the Midwest as they join FC Cincinnati and Louisville City FC, while NCFC and ATL UTD 2 complement the league's existing clubs on the East Coast, with the Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence and Richmond Kickers eagerly awaiting the chance to square off with their new rivals.

Orlando City B elected not to participate in the USL at the Division II level in 2018 while it evaluates its future options.

• Discuss this story on the United Soccer League message board...

United Soccer League Stories from January 12, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.