NFL, NBA, NHL stats

St. Paul Saints To Induct Ken Stauffer Of Tampa Bay Rays Into Professional Baseball Scouts Hall Of F

February 10, 2010 - American Association (AA) - St. Paul Saints News Release

ST. PAUL, MN (February 10, 2010) - Five veteran baseball scouts have been named as the 2010 inductees to the Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame (PBSHOF). This marks the third year of honorees, with the selections announced by The Goldklang Group.

With players, executives, umpires, writers and broadcasters honored annually in Cooperstown at the National Baseball Hall of Fame, this is a unique honor given to those who exist at the very foundation of player development for the Major Leagues. The inductees are commemorated with bronze plaques on display at the four minor league clubs operated by the Goldklang Group (St. Paul Saints, Charleston RiverDogs, Ft. Myers Miracle and Hudson Valley Renegades).

We are very pleased to announce this year's honorees, as follows: Honored at St. Paul will be Ken Stauffer (Tampa Bay). Honored at Charleston will be Jax

Robertson (Pittsburgh Pirates). Honored at Fort Myers will be Terry Ryan (Minnesota) and Dave Yoakum (Chicago White Sox). Honored at Hudson Valley will be Bob Miske (New York Yankees).

Their formal inductions will take place on four separate dates. The 2010 inductions will kick off in Fort Myers on March 30th, Charleston RiverDogs to follow April 30th, Hudson Valley Renegades July 10th and St. Paul Saints August 12th.

"The ability to grow this program remains an honor and a tremendous privilege," said Tyler Tumminia, Vice President, Goldklang Group. "After two years we have achieved our aggressive goal of creating a stand alone and broadly recognized shrine acknowledging the best scouts in the industry. The response and feedback we have received within the sport is humbling, and we are proud to continue carrying the torch."

Last year's inductees were Tom Greenwade (New York Yankees), Marti Wolever (Philadelphia), Joe McIlvaine (Minnesota), Joe Rigoli (St. Louis), Rene Mons (Milwaukee), Roland Johnson (New York Mets), Al Goldis (long time scout), John Barr (San Francisco), Bob Fontaine (Toronto), Gary Hughes (Chicago Cubs), Tom Burns (Toronto) and Howard McCullough (Arizona).

The Goldklang Group activated a ballpark campaign in 2008 to spotlight the tremendous dedication of Professional Baseball Scouts, tireless and devoted individuals who spend a significant amount of their lives on the road, and create recognition for their invaluable contributions to the game of baseball.

The criteria for induction includes a minimum of 20 years of pro scouting experience, with selection based on a combination of quantifiable success in the field, contributions made to the game in other areas of the sport whether professional or amateur, and importantly, their involvement and dedication to the local community that is honoring them through induction.

• Discuss this story on the American Association message board...

American Association Stories from February 10, 2010

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.