Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
Looking for sports stats?

RoughRiders Among Rangers Minor League Award Winners

January 17, 2018 - Texas League (TL) - Frisco RoughRiders News Release


FRISCO, Texas (Jan. 17, 2018) - The Texas Rangers announced their 2017 Minor League Award recipients, which included three players - Ronald Guzman, Jose Trevino and Ricardo Rodriguez - who have played for the Frisco RoughRiders. Trevino and Rodriguez played for the RoughRiders last season, Guzman in 2016.

The 2017 Minor League Award recipients:

Ronald Guzman-Tom Grieve Player of the Year

Guzman led Triple-A Round Rock in average (.298), runs (78), hits (140), and multi-hit games (38) in 2017. The first baseman posted an .806 OPS, his highest since an .808 figure in his first professional season in 2012 with the Arizona Rangers. Guzman played for Frisco in 2016, hitting .288 with 15 home runs and 56 RBIs in 102 games.

Jose Trevino-Defender of the Year

Trevino rated statistically as the top defensive catcher in the Texas League at Double-A Frisco, compiling a .996 fielding percentage and leading all TL backstops in games (99), total chances (829), putouts (762), assists (64), and caught stealing percentage at 41.3%. He was awarded a minor league Gold Glove for the second consecutive season.

Ricardo Rodriguez-Reliever of the Year

Rodriguez combined to go 5-1 with 17 saves and 1.34 ERA (7 ER/47.0 IP) in 35 relief appearances with Down East and Double-A Frisco, averaging 11.7 SO/9 and 1.9 BB/9 in the minors this season. He retired 45 consecutive batters at Down East from May 14-June 28 and ranked second in the Carolina League with 12 saves at the time of his promotion to Frisco. Rodriguez made his Major League debut with the Rangers on August 14 and appeared in 16 games with the club.

Kyle Cody-Nolan Ryan Pitcher of the Year

Cody posted the lowest ERA among all Texas farmhands, going 9-6 with a 2.64 ERA (37 ER/126.0 IP) and 136 strikeouts over 23 games/starts with Low-A Hickory and High-A Down East.

The Rangers also announced that former pitcher Colby Lewis is the recipient of the 2018 Mark Holtz Alumni Award.

Lewis and the minor league recipients will be honored at the 2018 Dr Pepper Texas Rangers Awards Dinner, which takes place this Friday, January 19 at Gilley's Dallas. Tickets for the dinner, which will honor a number of baseball personalities and feature appearances by Texas Rangers past and present, are now on sale at . Individual tickets for the Dr Pepper Awards Dinner are priced at $110.00 each with tables of ten also available. Net proceeds benefit the Texas Rangers Baseball Foundation. The dinner will begin at 7:00 p.m.

Gilley's Dallas is located at 1135 S. Lamar St. in Dallas. The 2018 Dr Pepper Texas Rangers Awards Dinner is also sponsored by FOX Sports Southwest, CBS11/TXA21, and 105.3 The FAN.

The RoughRiders open the 2018 season Thursday, April 5 at Dr Pepper Ballpark. Season tickets and ticket packages are now available at, (972) 731-9200 and the RoughRiders Ticket Office.

• Discuss this story on the Texas League message board...

Texas League Stories from January 17, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Frisco RoughRiders Stories