NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Paul Shuey Inducted into Kinston Professional Baseball Hall of Fame

March 10, 2011 - Carolina League (CarL) - Kinston Indians News Release

Kinston, NC - Today the Kinston Indians inducted former Cleveland Indian and University of North Carolina All-American Paul Shuey into the Kinston Professional Baseball Hall of Fame.

Shuey attended Raleigh Millbrook High School and was drafted second overall by the Cleveland Indians out of UNC in 1992. Shuey was a Freshman All-American and All ACC performer for the Tar Heels in 1990, leading the team with 31 appearances. That season, UNC went 51-14 winning both the ACC Regular Season and Tournament Championships. Shuey led the team in ERA in 1991 (1.70) and 1992 (3.13), while also leading the team in strikeouts in 1992 (87).

Shuey was drafted second overall in the 1992 draft by the Cleveland Indians. Shuey reached Kinston in 1993, going 1-0 with a 4.84 ERA in 15 appearances. He spent the first half of 1994 in Kinston, going 1-0 with a 3.75 ERA with a team high eight saves, before making his Major League debut that same year. The reliever spent nine years with Cleveland (1994-2002), two with the Los Angeles Dodgers (2002-03) and then came back from injury to play 25 games with the Baltimore Orioles in 2007. Shuey went 45-28 with a 3.87 ERA and 23 saves in his Major League career.

2011 Single Game Tickets for the Kinston Indians go on sale Monday, March 14th. Reserved seat tickets for K-Tribe games are just $5 for students, seniors and the Military. General Admission tickets are only $5, with general public reserved seat tickets costing only $6. Field level and box seat tickets are $7. You can order and print your tickets online at or call the K-Tribe front office at 1-800-334-5467.

Kinston Professional Baseball Hall of Fame

1983 - Charley "King Kong" Keller, George Suggs, Pat Crawford, Stanley Spence

1984 - Harding "Pete" Peterson

1985 - Lou Gorman

1988 - Sam Narron

1989 - Ray Kuhlman

1990 - Jesse Barfield

1991 - John McLaren

1992 - Mike Hargrove

1993 - Leo Mazzone

1994 - Cecil Fielder

1995 - Jim Price

1996 - Jay Schroeder

1997 - Steve Blass

1998 - Bobby Bragan

1999 - Clyde King

2000 - Grady Little

2002 - Johnny Goryl

2003 - Carl Long

2004 - Charles Nagy

2005 - Gordy MacKenzie

2006 - Rocket Wheeler

2007 - Eric Wedge

2008 - Chad Ogea

2009 - Sean Casey

2010 - Gene Michael

2011 - Paul Shuey

• Discuss this story on the Carolina League message board...

Carolina League Stories from March 10, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Kinston Indians Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew