NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Nine Erie Otters Alumni Advance to Stanley Cup Playoffs

August 12, 2020 - Ontario Hockey League (OHL) - Erie Otters News Release

The Stanley Cup Qualifying round is complete, and nine former Erie Otters remain as the dust settles with 16 teams battling for the coveted hockey chalice. The Stanley Cup Playoffs will begin Tuesday, August 11th as the postseason continues in it's reseeding bracket challenge. We're following along with our alumni as we root on for a third consecutive Erie Otters Stanley Cup champion! (Andre Burakovsky - Washington Capitals in 2018, Ryan O'Reilly - St. Louis Blues in 2019 and named playoff MVP as the Conn Smyth Trophy winner)

The Stanley Cup Playoffs will feature hockey's traditional best-of-7 game series as teams move on through a reseeding bracket after each round. With the unprecedented circumstances of the global COVID-19 pandemic, the NHL will continue with its hub system utilizing Canadian cities Edmonton (Western Conference host) and Toronto (Eastern Conference host) as the "bubbles" for the league's two conferences. Following the first two rounds of the Stanley Cup Playoffs the remaining teams will fly to Edmonton for the Conference Finals and the Stanley Cup Final.

• Discuss this story on the Ontario Hockey League message board...

Ontario Hockey League Stories from August 12, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.