NFL, MLB, CFL stats

NHL Draft: Oksentyuk Picked by Dallas

October 8, 2020 - Ontario Hockey League (OHL) - Flint Firebirds News Release

The Dallas Stars selected Flint Firebirds forward Evgeniy Oksentyuk in the sixth-round, 162nd overall, of the 2020 NHL Entry Draft Wednesday, making him an impressive eighth Flint Firebird to be drafted into the National Hockey League in just five years.

The OHL had five of the first 10 picks in the NHL Draft.

Oksentyuk was selected by the Firebirds in the first-round (5th overall) of the 2019 CHL Import Draft. He recorded the most points out of all 81 players taken in the 2019 CHL Import Draft. Oksentyuk also led the Firebirds with 78 points (33G, 45A) in 58 games this past season. The Brest, Belarus native set a franchise record for the longest point-streak by a single player, recording a point in 17 consecutive games from Nov. 15, 2019 - Jan. 17, 2020.

For the fifth consecutive year, at least one current Flint Firebird player heard their name called on NHL Draft day. Three of the past five NHL Drafts have now seen the Dallas Stars select a Flint Firebird (Caamano 2016, Dellandrea 2018).

For the past five seasons, the OHL has sent more players to the NHL than any other league in the world. The OHL is first in the world in total players selected in the NHL Draft (197), first and second round selections combined (76), defenseman (80) and forwards (122). On NHL opening day rosters in October, one-in-four players (26.4%) competing in the NHL were alums of the OHL, which is also the highest percentage in the world.

Since the Firebirds' inception in Flint, Michigan five seasons ago, there have been nine Firebirds that have played in a NHL regular or preseason game. A total of 19 players that have worn a Firebirds jersey have either been drafted and/or signed by NHL clubs: Will Bitten (Montreal), Dennis Busby (Arizona), Nick Caamano (Dallas), Connor Chatham (New Jersey), Ty Dellandrea (Dallas), Fedor Gordeev (Toronto), Kyle Keyser (Boston Bruins), Ethan Keppen (Vancouver), Vladislav Kolyachonok (Florida), Nick Mattinen (Toronto), Brent Moran (Dallas), Alex Nedeljkovic (Carolina), Evgeniy Oksentyuk (Dallas), Alex Peters (Dallas), Vili Saarijarvi (Detroit), Kole Sherwood (Columbus), Jalen Smereck (Arizona), Tyler Tucker (St. Louis) and Josh Wesley (Carolina).

• Discuss this story on the Ontario Hockey League message board...

Ontario Hockey League Stories from October 8, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

OurSports Central