Looking for stats?

Marlins C Austin Nola Wins Stenson Sportsmanship Award

November 19, 2016 - Arizona Fall League (AzFL) News Release

Scottsdale, Arizona - Mesa Solar Sox catcher Austin Nola (Marlins) is the recipient of the 2016 Arizona Fall League Dernell Stenson Sportsmanship Award.

The versatile 26-year-old Baton Rouge, LA native appeared in eight games at catcher, first base, second base and third base for the East Division champion Solar Sox, batting .273.

Drafted by Miami in the fifth round (167th overall) in 2012 out of Louisiana State University, the 6-0, 195-pound Nola is a five-year pro. He has a .244 career batting average in 566 minor-league games. He has spent the past season and one- half at Triple-A New Orleans where he batted a composite .268 in 174 games.

Dernell Stenson Sportsmanship Award - The Fall League instituted the Stenson Award in 2004 in memory of former AFL player Dernell Stenson, who was killed in 2003 in Arizona during the AFL season. Stenson played for the Grand Canyon Rafters in 1998 and was playing for the Scottsdale Scorpions at the time of his death.

The award is presented annually to the Fall League player who best exemplifies unselfishness, hard work and leadership. The manager and coaching staff from each of the six Fall League teams nominate one player for the award.

Other Nominees - Other players nominated for the 2016 Stenson Award were Scottsdale OF Hunter Cole (Giants), Salt River IF Dylan Moore (Braves), Glendale OF Andrew Stevenson (Nationals), Surprise C Jose Trevino (Rangers) and Peoria SS Zach Vincej (Reds).

Dernell Stenson Sportsmanship Award Recipients 2016 - Austin Nola (Marlins), C, Mesa Solar Sox 2015 - Yadiel Rivera (Brewers), SS, Surprise Saguaros 2014 - Patrick Kivlehan (Mariners), 3B, Surprise Saguaros 2013 - Garin Cecchini (Red Sox), 3B, Surprise Saguaros 2012 - Cole Kimball (Nationals), RHP, Salt River Rafters 2011 - Kevin Mattison (Marlins), OF, Surprise Saguaros 2010 - Steve Lombardozzi (Nationals), IF, Scottsdale Scorpions 2009 - Russ Mitchell (Dodgers), 1B, Peoria Javelinas 2008 - Jason Donald (Phillies), IF, Mesa Solar Sox 2007 - Sam Fuld (Cubs), OF, Mesa Solar Sox 2006 - Kevin Frandsen (Giants), IF, Scottsdale Scorpions 2005 - Andre Ethier (Athletics), OF, Phoenix Desert Dogs 2004 - Mark Teahen (Royals), 3B, Phoenix Desert Dogs - afl -

• Discuss this story on the Arizona Fall League message board...

Arizona Fall League Stories from November 19, 2016

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.