NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Knighthawks Trio to Play for Iroquois Nationals at Bowhunter Cup

September 24, 2011 - National Lacrosse League (NLL) - Rochester Knighthawks News Release

(Rochester, September 24)... Rochester Knighthawks Cody Jamieson, Sid Smith and Travis Hill will play for the Iroquois Nationals on Sunday, October 16th, as the Iroquois host the U.S. Men's National Indoor Lacrosse Team in the Second Bowhunter Cup. The game, which will feature current and past Knighthawks players, will take place at the Oneida Indian Nation's Turning Stone Resort Casino at 6:00 p.m. at the Event Center.

"I am excited to play for the Iroquois. Anytime you can wear that jersey it is an honor," said Jamieson. "We take pride in every opportunity to take the floor and play the Creator's Game."

Jamieson will compete in his second straight Bowhunter Cup. This summer, he was named to the All-World Team and the top Transition Player at the 2011 FIL World Indoor Lacrosse Championships. Jamieson earned the honors after scoring 16 goals and collecting six assists for the silver-medal winning Iroquois. Jamieson enters his second season with the Rochester Knighthawks. Last season, the No. 1 overall pick was named to the NLL All-Rookie Team. Jamieson finished second in NLL Rookie of the Year voting, as he led all NLL rookies with 53 points and finished first on the Knighthawks with 28 goals. He also represented the Knighthawks at the 2011 NLL All-Star Game.

Smith will join his world game teammate in his first Bowhunter Cup. Smith was named to the All-World Team and selected as the Top Defenseman of the World Games. He enters his third season with the Knighthawks in 2012 after getting selected with the first overall pick in the 2009 NLL Entry Draft. Last season, he earned team co-defensive player of the year honors for the second straight year. Smith also represented the Knighthawks at the 2011 NLL All-Star Game.

Newest Knighthawk Travis Hill will again play for the Iroquois Nationals. Hill signed with the Knighthawks this afternoon after spending the past seven years with the Minnesota Swarm. The transition player has won 41 percent of his faceoffs in his pro career (325 of 796). He also has scooped up 325 loose balls in that time frame. Hill is no stranger to the national team, having played for the silver-medal winning Iroquois Nationals in the 2007 and 2011 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships.

"It's great to have a competition like this. I hope it gains momentum and continues for years," said Hill. "It will be a good toe-to-toe matchup. I can't wait to get out on the floor again."

Past Knighthawks Cory Bomberry, Cody Johnson, Dean Hill, Peter Jacobs, Ron Cogan and Holdon Vyse are also members of the Iroquois Nationals. Furthermore, Knighthawks Hall of Famer Duane Jacobs will work on the Team Iroquois coaching staff. Joining him is former Rochester Head Coach Barry Powless, who led the Knighthawks to their first title in 1997.

The Iroquois Nationals are 3-1 all-time against Team USA in indoor competition, most recently winning in pool play at the World Indoor Lacrosse Championship. Jamieson scored four goals to lead the Iroquois to an 11-10 comeback win at Eden Arena in Prague. In the inaugural Bowhunter Cup, Bill McGlone (University of Maryland/Philadelphia Wings) scored four goals to lead USA to its first-ever win over the Iroquois Nationals, a 13-11 victory at the War Memorial at Oncenter in Syracuse.

For this year's event, tickets, priced at $20 for upper bowl reserved seating and $10 for lower bowl general admission (or obstructed view) for adults, or $10 (all seats) for youth 12 and under, are available at the Turning Stone Box Office or by calling 361-SHOW or toll-free at 1-877-833-SHOW. The Box Office is open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Tickets may also be purchased at any Ticketmaster location or online at

The event is the second time that the Oneida Nation has hosted a premier lacrosse event on its homelands. In February, the Event Center at Turning Stone was the site of the National Lacrosse League (NLL) All-Star Game.

The modern sport of lacrosse is derived from a game created by the Haudenosaunee (Iroquois) centuries ago, and it still inspires cultural passion and community healing. Oneidas and other Iroquois cherished the game as entertainment and physical conditioning, but lacrosse was also a spiritual celebration. The game was said to be a gift from the Creator and, often, the game was played simply to please the Creator. It was also described as the medicine game since it was used to peacefully settle disputes between nations or villages. After games, the people would gather for a feast, strengthening the confederacy.

The Nationals' full roster is listed below, with each players' most recent pro team and college listed if applicable.


Cory Bomberry: Rochester Knighthawks

Brett Bucktooth: Buffalo Bandits - Syracuse '06

Dean Hill: Edmonton Rush - Brock '05

Peter Jacobs: Rochester Knighthawks

Cody Jamieson: Rochester Knighthawks - Syracuse '10

Delby Powless: Buffalo Bandits - Rutgers '05

Roger Vyse: Buffalo Bandits - Limestone


Travis Hill: Rochester Knighthawks - Canisius '04

Cody Johnson: Rochester Knighthawks - Onondaga CC '09

Tom Montour: Buffalo Bandits

Jeremy Thompson: Syracuse '11


Ron Cogan: Rochester Knighthawks

Isaiah Kicknosway: Buffalo Bandits - Orange Coast '09

Sid Smith: Rochester Knighthawks - Syracuse '09

Brandon Swamp: Buffalo Bandits - Potsdam '07

Holdon Vyse: Rochester Knighthawks - Onondaga CC '09


Angus Goodleaf - Buffalo Bandits

Jeff Powless - Buffalo Bandits - Bucknell

Coaches: Duane Jacobs, Ron Henry, Stuart Montour, Barry Powless

• Discuss this story on the National Lacrosse League message board...

National Lacrosse League Stories from September 24, 2011

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.