Sports stats

IHL Releases 2008-09 Regular Season Schedule

May 30, 2008 - International Hockey League 2 (IHL 2) News Release

ROCHESTER, MI- The International Hockey League (IHL) released the schedule of games for the 2008-09 regular season on Friday, May 30th. The IHL regular season opens on Friday, October 17th, 2008 and concludes on Saturday, April 11th, 2009.

Six IHL Member Clubs will compete for the 2008-09 season. The schedule consists of 228 games with each team playing a total of 76 games (38 home, 38 road). There will be a total of 52 weekday games with 77% of the league contests being slated to be played on the weekend.

IHL Member Clubs

Bloomington PrairieThunder

Kalamazoo Wings

Flint Generals

Muskegon Fury

Fort Wayne Komets

Port Huron Icehawks

Each of the six IHL Member Clubs will hit the ice during the first weekend of play. The 2008 Turner Cup Champion Fort Wayne Komets will travel to Port Huron on Friday, October 17th to face-off against the Icehawks for a rematch of the 2008 Finals, which ended in triple overtime in game seven. Also scheduled for opening night, the Flint Generals will face-off in Bloomington. Both teams will enter the 2008-09 season with new head coaches behind the bench. All six teams will lace up their skates the following night (Saturday, October 18th).

• Discuss this story on the International Hockey League 2 message board...

International Hockey League 2 Stories from May 30, 2008

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central