NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Ice Begin Title Defense This Saturday In Youngstown

September 30, 2009 - United States Hockey League (USHL) - Indiana Ice News Release

CHAMPIONSHIP FEELING: The Indiana Ice is coming off their first ever USHL Clark Cup Championship season. Playoff victims included Cedar Rapids, Green Bay and Fargo in the championship. Mike Cichy was the Playoff MVP after leading the club in playoff scoring with 25 points (6G, 19A), while Brett Bennett was superb in net with a 2.36 GAA and a .920 save percentage. Cichy and Bennett have taken their games this fall to North Dakota and Wisconsin respectively.

OPEN SESAME: The Indiana Ice is 3-2-0 all-time in regular season openers. The defending champs were defeated by Cedar Rapids 4-2 in last year's curtain riser.

FRESH START: The Ice ended a five-game preseason slate with a 1-4-0 record including a 1-2-0 mark at last weekend's Fall Classic in Sioux City, IA. Kevin Goumas led Indy in preseason scoring with three points (G, 2A), while Brian Ferlin topped all goal scorers with two. Byron Paulazzo, Alex Wideman, David Johnstone and Justin Agosta recorded two points respectively, while Casey DeSmith posted the lone win between the pipes.

TEAM OCTOBER: The Ice hopes to mirror last October as Indiana was 7-1-0 for the month which was the best monthly start in franchise history. Overall, the Ice is 23-14-4 all-time in October and has never had a losing record in the month in all five of their previous years.

LET US BEGIN: The Ice roster is now set for opening night with 14 forwards, nine defensemen and two goaltenders. Six players return from the championship squad which includes forwards Shane Berschbach, Max Cook and John Parker and defensemen Anthony Bitetto, Taylor Boldt and Luke McManus.

(For complete Ice roster, visit

COLLEGE VISITS: 14 of the Ice's current 24-man roster already have earned Division 1 college scholarships for the future.

The List- Justin Agosta (New Hampshire), Nick Bailen (RPI), Shane Berschbach (Miami), Anthony Bitetto (Northeastern), Max Cook (Miami), Nic Dowd (St. Cloud), Brian Ferlin (Cornell), Billy Fitzgerald (Dartmouth), David Johnstone (Michigan State), Sean Logue (St. Lawrence), Nick Mattson (North Dakota), Luke McManus (Minnesota-Duluth), John Parker (UMass-Amherst), Alex Wideman (Miami).

• Discuss this story on the United States Hockey League message board...

United States Hockey League Stories from September 30, 2009

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Indiana Ice Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew