Looking for stats?

Garver and Slegers Named Twins Minor League Player and Pitcher

October 19, 2017 - International League (IL) - Rochester Red Wings News Release

Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN-The Minnesota Twins announced today that catcher Mitch Garver has been named the 2017 Sherry Robertson Award winner as the Twins Minor League Player of the Year and right-handed pitcher Aaron Slegers has been named the 2017 Jim Rantz Award winner as the Twins Minor League Pitcher of the Year. Garver, 26, split the season between Triple-A Rochester and Minnesota, combining to hit .279 (102-for-366) with 30 doubles, 17 home runs and 48 RBI in 111 games. The 6-foot-1, 220-pound catcher was named International League Player of the Week in early July and was named an International League Postseason All-Star. The Albuquerque, New Mexico native was selected by the Twins in the ninth round of the 2013 First-Year Player Draft out of the University of New Mexico. He appeared in 23 games for the Twins this season, playing catcher, first base and outfield. In parts of five minor league seasons, he has hit .271 (493-for-1819) with 127 doubles, 51 home runs and 286 RBI in 508 games. Slegers, 25, spent nearly the entire season with Triple-A Rochester, going 15-4 with a 3.40 ERA (148.1 IP, 56 ER), 29 walks and 119 strikeouts in 24 starts. He made his major league debut in August and appeared in four games (3 starts) for the Twins. Slegers led the Twins minor league system in wins, innings pitched and starts. Additionally, he led all of Triple-A in wins and was tied for first among all Minor League Baseball farmhands in wins. The 6-foot-10, 245-pound pitcher earned International League Pitcher of the Week honors in mid-July. The Scottsdale, Arizona native was selected by the Twins in the fifth round of the 2013 First-Year Player Draft out of Indiana University. In parts of five minor league seasons, he has posted a record of 43-29 with a 3.50 ERA (601.0 IP, 234 ER), 134 walks and 447 strikeouts in 106 games (97 starts). The Sherry Robertson Award, named in honor of the Twins' first farm director, was established in 1970 to recognize the top Twins minor league performer each season. Since 2002, the award has recognized the Twins Minor League Player of the Year while an additional award has been created to recognize the Twins Minor League Pitcher of the Year. This award was named in honor of former Twins Minor League Director and Twins Hall of Famer Jim Rantz. Past winners of the Sherry Robertson Award include Butch Wynegar (1974), Kent Hrbek (1981), Gene Larkin (1986), Paul Sorrento (1989), Denny Neagle (1990), Marty Cordova (1992), LaTroy Hawkins (1993 and '94), Todd Walker (1996), David Ortiz (1997), Doug Mientkiewicz (1998), Michael Cuddyer (2001), Joe Mauer (2003), Jason Kubel (2004), Brian Dozier (2011), Byron Buxton (2013), Kennys Vargas (2014), Max Kepler (2015) and Zack Granite (2016). Past winners of the Jim Rantz award include Jesse Crain (2003), Scott Baker (2004), Francisco Liriano (2005), Matt Garza (2006), Kyle Gibson (2010), Josà BerrÃ-os (2014 and '15) and Stephen Gonsalves (2016). Garver and Slegers, along with the other Twins 2017 award winners, will be recognized at the 13th Annual Diamond Awards dinner, which will be held on Thursday, January 18, 2018.


1970 Mark Wiley 1971 Steve Brye 1972 Tom Smithson 1973 Craig Kusick 1974 Butch Wynegar 1975 Steve Luebber 1976 Dan Graham 1977 Greg Field 1978 Steve Douglas 1979 Steve Green 1980 Bob Konopa 1981 Kent Hrbek 1982 Jeff Reed 1983 Tim Teufel 1984 Curt Wardle 1985 Mark Davidson 1986 Gene Larkin 1987 Mike Dyer 1988 Pete Delkus 1989 Paul Sorrento 1990 Denny Neagle 1991 Pat Mahomes 1992 Marty Cordova 1993 LaTroy Hawkins 1994 LaTroy Hawkins 1995 Javier Valentin 1996 Todd Walker 1997 David Ortiz 1998 Doug Mientkiewicz 1999 Michael Restovich 2000 John Barnes 2001 Michael Cuddyer 2002 Lew Ford 2003 Joe Mauer 2004 Jason Kubel 2005 David Winfree 2006 Alexi Casilla 2007 Brian Buscher 2008 Ben Revere 2009 Ben Revere 2010 Joe Benson 2011 Brian Dozier 2012 Oswaldo Arcia 2013 Byron Buxton 2014 Kennys Vargas 2015 Max Kepler 2016 Zack Granite 2017 Mitch Garver


2002 J.D. Durbin 2003 Jesse Crain 2004 Scott Baker 2005 Francisco Liriano 2006 Matt Garza 2007 Kevin Slowey 2008 Anthony Slama 2009 David Bromberg 2010 Kyle Gibson 2011 Liam Hendriks 2012 B.J. Hermsen 2013 Andrew Albers 2014 Josà BerrÃ-os 2015 Josà BerrÃ-os 2016 Stephen Gonsalves 2017 Aaron Slegers

• Discuss this story on the International League message board...

International League Stories from October 19, 2017

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Rochester Red Wings Stories