NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Friedl Named Mary E. Barney MVP Award Winner

October 6, 2021 - Triple-A East League (AAA East) - Louisville Bats News Release

LOUISVILLE, KY - The Louisville Bats today announced that outfielder TJ Friedl has been named the winner of the team's Mary E. Barney MVP Award for the 2021 season.

Friedl, 26, made his Triple-A debut with the Bats this season and hit .264 (102-for-386) with 59 runs scored, 32 extra-base hits, including 12 homers, 36 RBIs, 13 stolen bases and a .357 OBP. He led the team in runs, total bases (163), triples (5), walks (44) and steals and appeared in the second-most games (113) with the Bats behind only Alfredo Rodriguez (117 games). Friedl also starred defensively to commit just one error across 926 innings between left (161 innings), center (603 innings) and right field (162 innings).

The Sewickley, Pennsylvania native caught fire late in the season, hitting safely in 22 of his final 23 games with the Bats from Aug. 20 - Sept. 17. Friedl notched a team high-tying 13-game hitting streak during that stretch and capped the 23-game span ranked fourth in the league in hits (30) and fifth in average (.326).

Friedl had his contract selected by the Cincinnati Reds on Sept. 18 and made his Major League debut that night against the Los Angeles Dodgers. The former Bats standout then homered off Tony Gonsolin on Sept. 19 at Great American Ballpark for his first career MLB hit.

Since his professional debut in 2016, Friedl ranks among the top five of all Reds farmhands in runs (1st, 199), triples (2nd, 21), total bases (2nd, 524) hits (3rd, 339) and extra-base hits (4th, 110). He entered the 2021 season rated by Baseball America as the 22nd-best prospect in Cincinnati's system.

Below are the all-time winners of the Louisville Bats' Mary E. Barney MVP Award:

2021: TJ Friedl

2020: *No Season*

2019: Aristides Aquino, Brian O'Grady

2018: Kevin Quackenbush

2017: Sebastian Elizalde

2016: Jermaine Curtis, Hernan Iribarren

2015: Ramon Cabrera

2014: Jason Bourgeois

2013: Greg Reynolds

2012: J.J. Hoover

2011: Devin Mesoraco

2010: Zack Cozart

2009: Kevin Barker

2008: Jon Adkins, Kevin Barker

2007: Joey Votto

2006: Norris Hopper

• Discuss this story on the Triple-A East League message board...

Triple-A East League Stories from October 6, 2021

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Louisville Bats Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew
OurSports Central