NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Five Knighthawks Going for Gold at World Championships

July 11, 2018 - National Lacrosse League (NLL) - Rochester Knighthawks News Release

Five members of the East Division champion Rochester Knighthawks will begin their quest for gold this week at the 2018 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Men's Lacrosse World Championship.

Jake Withers and Graeme Hossack will play for the defending champions, Team Canada, while Kyle Jackson and Frank Brown will suit up for the reigning bronze medalists, the Iroquois Nationals. Luke Laszkiewicz rounds out the Knighthawks playing in the tournament's top division, as he will lead Team Scotland into competition.

After helping the Knighthawks reach the 2018 NLL Finals, the players are now stepping onto the international stage. All five players are making their debuts at the event, which will run from July 12-21 in Netanya, Israel.

"It's an honor to have the opportunity to represent Canada at the world games," said Withers. "It's been a dream of mine to be able to compete for my country. I am humbled and excited for the challenge that lies ahead and have no doubt in my mind that we have the group of men to defend the country's gold medal. With this being my first experience with Team Canada, it makes it a little more special as well."

"I am extremely honored to be selected among the top players in the game," said Jackson, whose family has roots in Aamjiwnaang First Nations. "I have been looking forward to this over the past four years. I am looking forward to playing with this highly-talented team. After finishing third in the last World Games, I am excited to see what this group can do."

Jackson and Brown, who resides in Seneca Nation, will be the first Knighthawks to see action as the Iroquois battle the United States Thursday at 1:30 p.m. On Saturday, three Rochester players will be featured as Canada meets Scotland at 11:00 a.m.

Knighthawks fans can watch the World Lacrosse Championships on ESPN2 and ESPNU, which will televise 14 games, with more than 160 games available on ESPN+. The event will originate from Netanya Stadium and Wingate Institute. Click here for a complete broadcast schedule.

This year, 46 countries will compete at the 2018 FIL Men's Lacrosse World Championship. The U.S. and Canada are the only two countries to ever win the championship, with Canada claiming gold in 1978 in Stockport, England; 2006 in London, Ontario; and 2014 in Denver.

• Discuss this story on the National Lacrosse League message board...

National Lacrosse League Stories from July 11, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Rochester Knighthawks Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew