NFL, MLB, CFL stats

Caamano, Dellandrea with Firebirds Ties in Stanley Cup Final Bubble

September 19, 2020 - Ontario Hockey League (OHL) - Flint Firebirds News Release

Edmonton, Alta. - Nick Caamano and Ty Dellandrea are two skaters with Firebirds ties set to begin the Stanley Cup Final with the Dallas Stars inside the NHL's bubble tonight. The final race to the Stanley Cup begins Saturday when the Tampa Bay Lightning and Stars face off and an impressive 20 OHL graduates are among the two clubs.

After being selected fifth overall by Flint in the 2016 OHL Priority Selection, Dellandrea served as a key piece of the Firebirds' best season yet this campaign as the club won 40 of their 63 games. Dellandrea recorded 70 points (32G, 38A) over 47 contests, wrapping up his fourth season as the Firebirds' all-time leader in career goals (94), assists (122) and points (216). Caamano was a Firebird for nearly three seasons from 2015-17 and amassed 122 points (67G, 55A) in 154 games with the orange and navy blue.

Nick Caamano was the first Firebird to be tabbed by the Stars when he was selected in the fifth-round (146th overall) of the 2016 NHL Draft in Buffalo, NY, before Dellandrea was selected by Dallas in the first-round (13th overall) of the 2018 NHL Draft in the draft city, Dallas, Tex.

NBC, NBC Sports Network (NBCSN), NHL Network and USA Network will broadcast the games in the United States, while CBC, Sportsnet and TVA Sports (French) will carry the games in Canada. Fans can also listen to live play-by-play for the majority of the games internationally on SiriusXM NHL Network Radio, channel 91. Fans can also watch games live online via here.

The 6-foot-1, 190-pound center won gold as part of Canada's National Junior Team in January and finished tied for first as the Western Conference's top face-off man in the 2019-20 OHL Coaches Poll. Dellandrea, who was chosen as Flint's most valuable player in both the 2018 and 2019 seasons, became the first Flint Firebird ever to be selected in the first-round of an NHL Draft when he was tabbed by Dallas with the 13th overall pick in 2018.

The Stars won their last Stanley Cup in 1999 and lost in the Final the following season. The Lightning will be playing for their first championship since 2004, having lost to the Chicago Blackhawks in the 2015 Stanley Cup Final. They were swept by the Columbus Blue Jackets in the first round of the 2019 playoffs; the first Presidents' Trophy winner to have met that fate.



Anthony Cirelli (Oshawa/Erie, 2014-17)

Barclay Goodrow (Brampton/North Bay, 2009-14)

Patrick Maroon (London Knights, 2007-08)

Steven Stamkos (Sarnia Sting, 2006-08)

Mitchell Stephens (Saginaw/London, 2013-17)

Carter Verhaeghe (Niagara IceDogs, 2011-15)

Zach Bogosian (Peterborough Petes, 2007-08)

Erik Cernak (Erie Otters, 2015-17)

Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires, 2015-17)

Scott Wedgewood (Plymouth Whalers, 2008-12)


Nicholas Caamano (Plymouth/Flint/Hamilton, 2014-18)

Ty Dellandrea (Flint Firebirds, 2016-20)

Jason Dickinson (Guelph Storm, 2011-15)

Radek Faksa (Kitchener/Sudbury, 2011-14)

Thomas Harley (Mississauga Steelheads, 2017-20)*

Corey Perry (London Knights, 2001-05)

Jason Robertson (Kingston/Niagara, 2015-19)

Tyler Seguin (Plymouth Whalers, 2008-10)

Jamie Oleksiak (Saginaw/Niagara, 2011-12)

Andrej Sekera (Owen Sound Attack, 2004-06)

*eligible to return for 2020-21 OHL season

• Discuss this story on the Ontario Hockey League message board...

Ontario Hockey League Stories from September 19, 2020

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Other Recent Flint Firebirds Stories

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew