NFL, NBA, NHL stats

Babstock, Brandt, Hughson, Sass, Souliotis Named NWHL Foundation Award Recipients

March 19, 2019 - National Women's Hockey League (NWHL) News Release

The 2019 #NWHLAwards kick off with the recipients of the NWHL Foundation Award. These five players have exemplified what it means to be a role model in the world of women's hockey, going above and beyond through their tireless work in the community.

The NWHL salutes Kelly Babstock of the Buffalo Beauts, Hannah Brandt of the Minnesota Whitecaps, Sarah Hughson of the Connecticut Whale, Kimberly Sass of the Metropolitan Riveters and Mallory Souliotis of the Boston Pride. Recipients of the NWHL Foundation Award are selected by the league office and are recognized as those most actively applying the core values of hockey to her community, as well as growing the game and improving hockey culture.

"The NWHL prides itself on providing a platform to inspire," said Deputy Commissioner Hayley Moore. "What the recipients of this award have done with that platform is incredibly powerful and impactful! Hannah, Kelly, Kim, Mallory and Sarah exemplify what it means to give back to the game. We are lucky to have such incredible women representing the League and their communities."

The 2019 #NWHLAwards will be announced throughout this week. Stay tuned to and the NWHL's social media platforms for announcements of The Denna Laing Award, Fans' Three Stars of the Season, Newcomer of the Year, Goaltender of the Year, Defender of the Year, Player of the Year and MVP.

• Discuss this story on the National Women's Hockey League message board...

National Women's Hockey League Stories from March 19, 2019

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew