NFL, NBA, NHL stats

American Arena League Announces Northern Division

December 12, 2018 - American Arena League (AAL) News Release

The American Arena League CEO Tony Zefiretto is pleased to announce the creation of an AAL Northern Division which will cover the east coast states of West Virginia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Massachusetts.

"One of the league's goals is to limit long distance travel. The AAL North is a product of this commitment. To limit travel, teams will be scheduled to play within their division", stated Tony Zefiretto. To round out this division, the AAL is still in discussions with established teams and expansion teams.

The key to forming the AAL North was the return of two established teams.; the New Jersey Flight and the West Virginia Roughriders. The Roughriders were the 2017 league champions and played in the 2018 AAL championship game. The division will be rounded out with two new AAL teams.

In 2018, the New England Bobcats were champions within their league.

The AAL is also excited to announce a new expansion team, the Pittsburgh Defenders.

The AAL Southern Division consists of eight teams to include seven returning AAL teams the; High Country Grizzlies, Charlotte Energy, Cape Fear Heroes, Carolina Havoc, Peach State Cats, Georgia Doom, and Carolina Cowboys. They are joined by the expansion, South Carolina Predators.

• Discuss this story on the American Arena League message board...

American Arena League Stories from December 12, 2018

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.

Sports Statistics from the Stats Crew