Looking for stats?

2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup Host to be Named Following Rogers OHL Championship Series

May 2, 2013 - Ontario Hockey League (OHL) News Release

Toronto, ON - The Ontario Hockey League today announced that, as was the case in the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup site selection, that the successful host centre for the 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup will be announced following the completion of the Rogers OHL Championship Series.

The Rogers OHL Championship Series, which begins on Friday, features the Bobby Orr Trophy winning Barrie Colts and the Wayne Gretzky Trophy winning London Knights. The Colts and Knights, along with the Windsor Spitfires, are all finalists to host the 96th edition of the MasterCard Memorial Cup which takes place May 16-25, 2014.

The 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup Site Selection Committee is comprised of five leaders in the sports industry including Toronto Blue Jays President and CEO Paul Beeston, former OHL and NHL Executive and Director of Central Scouting Frank Bonello, NHL Senior Executive Vice President of Hockey Operations Colin Campbell, NHL Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations Jim Gregory, and President of Broadcast, Rogers Media (Sportsnet) Scott Moore. Ex officio members of the Site Selection Committee include OHL Legal Counsel Gord Kirke, and OHL Commissioner David Branch.

Delegates of the successful host committee will have the opportunity to travel to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, in time for the 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup which takes place May 17-26.

• Discuss this story on the Ontario Hockey League message board...

Ontario Hockey League Stories from May 2, 2013

The opinions expressed in this release are those of the organization issuing it, and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its staff.