2015 All-PIFL Selections

The Professional Indoor Football League (PIFL) forum
Site Admin
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 2:49 am
Location: Southampton, PA

2015 All-PIFL Selections

Post by Fran » Thu Jul 02, 2015 1:04 pm

http://www.proifl.com/news/1095-2015-al ... tions.html

Calculated by voting conducted by teams and league officials, the Professional Indoor Football League (PIFL) is proud to announce the members of the 2015 All-PIFL 1st and 2nd Team.

To no surprise the top two overall vote getters were MVP Candidates Lions WR Terrence Ebagua and Hammers WR Mico McSwain landing first place votes on all eligible ballots. Ebagua completed the year with a PIFL-high 26 touchdowns while McSwain, the PIFL all-time leader in catches, yards, and TD’s, hauled in 95 receptions for 1,487 yards both league high’s.

Trenton and Nashville nabbed a league-high eight nominations while both the Freedom and Raiders led all teams by having five All-PIFL 1st Teamers. Ending the year tied for the most rushing TD’s, Trenton FB Melik Brown becomes the first player in PIFL history to be nominated on the All-PIFL 1st Team twice winning top nod as both a Fullback and Iron-man.

The defending champion Nashville Venom end the season with five nominations on defense, most of any team in the league. Led by DL Walter Thomas, Defensive Rookie of the Year candidate LB Douglas Rippy, and DB Kenny Veal, Nashville held opposing QB’s to a league-low 48.6% completion percentage.

Ending with the league’s best turnover margin by creating 34 takeaways, Lehigh Valley swooped away with five total selections including defensive 1st-Teamers DL Larry Ford and DB Joe Powell. After being shut out on the offensive side of the ball last year, Steelhawks picked up 2nd Team awards via WR Brandon Renford and OL John Lavelle.

After finishing three straight seasons as the league’s top fullback, Lions Kendrick Perry was relegated to his first 2nd Team nomination in four years. Still the league’s all-time leading rusher, Perry reached the end-zone a combined eight times in 2015. The league’s top ranked offense, the Columbus Lions, garnered just one 1st Team vote (Ebagua) and for the first time since 2012 did not land a single 1st team selection on defense. Perry and OL Brandon Thomas raked in 2nd Team nods while DL Jerry Willis and veteran LB Larry Edwards take home nom’s for the defensive side of the ball.

With seven overall nominations, the Raiders Jonathan Bane lifted the top QB spot leading all passers in TD tosses with 55. For protecting Bane’s blind side, OL James Carter earned his first All-PIFL selection while KR Gerron Bryant and K T.C. Stevens took home honors as specialists with Stevens nod marking the third time in four seasons he has been named to the All-PIFL 1st Team.

With his fourth 1st Team All-PIFL selection, Alabama’s Mico McSwain is the only player in league history to have that distinction. Scorching hot at the end of the season, Hammers QB Garrett Sutphen and his 52 passing TD’s earned All 2nd Team honors while veteran OL Derrick Zeigler earned his first all-league selection.

As the Explosion’s lone selection, WR Alfonso Hoggard led Erie in receptions (63), yards (955), and TD’s (17) finishing in the top five in the PIFL in both catches and touchdowns.

Return to “PIFL”