Vipers Announce 2012-13 Opening Night Roster

Rio Grande Valley Vipers

November 21, 2012 - NBA Development League (D-League) - Rio Grande Valley Vipers

News Release

MCALLEN, Texas - The NBA Development League Rio Grande Valley Vipers today announced the 2012-13 opening night roster.

This year's 10-man roster features four NBA D-League Draft selections, including Chris Johnson, DeVon Hardin, Glen Rice, Jr. and Mike Singletary. Damian Saunders is the only returning Viper from last season. Jeff Adrien previously played for RGV during the 2010-11 season. The roster also features Houston Rockets assignments Scott Machado and Donatas Motiejunas. The complete roster is listed below.

No. Name Position Height Weight College

50 Jeff Adrien F 6-7 243 Connecticut

14 Kyle Fogg G 6-3 183 Arizona

33 DeVon Hardin C 6-10 230 California

10 Chris Johnson F 6-6 201 Dayton

*1 Scott Machado G 6-2 206 Iona

4 Demetri McCamey G 6-3 200 Illinois

*22 Donatas Motiejunas F/C 7-0 222 Kaunas, Lithuania

9 Toure' Murry G 6-5 200 Wichita State

44 Tim Ohlbrecht C 6-11 255 Germany

24 Glen Rice, Jr. G 6-6 215 Georgia Tech

18 Damian Saunders F 6-8 214 Duquesne

15 Mike Singletary F 6-6 220 Texas Tech

*Denotes Houston Rockets Assignment

Head Coach: Nick Nurse

Assistant Coach: Doug West

Assistant Coach: Matt Brase

Athletic Trainer: Craig Skinner

The Vipers open the season this weekend with a two-game home stand against the Bakersfield Jam Friday and Saturday. Both games are set for a 7 p.m. tipoff at State Farm Arena. Friday night, Vipers title sponsor Lone Star National Bank is giving away 500 youth replica jerseys, and Whataburger is sending everyone in attendance home with a free burger.

For more information about the Vipers season or to purchase tickets, call the Vipers at 956-972-1144.

• Discuss this story on the NBA Development League message board