Two Dallas Natives Called to U.S. Under-20 National Team Camp

FC Dallas

April 22, 2013 - Major League Soccer (MLS) - FC Dallas

News Release

FRISCO, Texas (Monday, April 22) - FC Dallas Homegrown player Kellyn Acosta and former FC Dallas Academy teammate Danny Garcia have been called into U.S. Under-20 Men's National Team camp by head coach Tab Ramos, U.S. Soccer announced today.

The Dallas natives are two of 23 players attending an April 22-29 training camp at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. The team is preparing for the 2013 FIFA U-20 World Cup, which takes place June 21-July 13 in Turkey.

Acosta and Garcia were members of the FC Dallas' U-17/18 Academy championship team in 2012. Garcia had a goal and assisted the game winner as FC Dallas captured its first Academy title with a come-from-behind 3-2 victory against Vancouver Whitecaps FC at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston on July 22.

Acosta, 17, is being called in to represent the U.S. U-20 team for the first time. Born on July 24, 1995, Acosta is the youngest member of the team by 226 days. He captained the U-18 MNT against France and Romania last year.

This camp marks the first for the U-20s since its strong runner-up performance at the CONCACAF U-20 Championship. The U-20 MNT qualified for the U-20 World Cup when it defeated Canada, 4-2, on Feb. 26 to advance to the semifinals of the CONCACAF U-20 Championship. The USA took second place in the tournament, which was capped off by a hard fought 3-1 overtime loss to host Mexico in the title match at Estadio Cuauhtémoc in Puebla.

The USA's week-long camp concludes with an April 28 match against the reserve team of Major League Soccer's Chivas USA.

Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Cody Cropper (Southampton FC; Maple Grove, Minn.), Kendall McIntosh (Santa Clara; Santa Rosa, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (8): AJ Cochran (Wisconsin; St. Louis, Mo.), Sean Cunningham (Molde FK; Troy, Mich.), Eric Miller (Creighton; Woodbury, Minn.), Juan Pablo Ocegueda (C.D. Guadalajara; Riverside, Calif.), Jeffrey Payeras (C.S.D. Municipal; Hawthorne, Calif.), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Javan Torre (UCLA; Santa Monica, Calif.), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders; Seattle, Wash.).

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas; Plano, Texas), Marlon Hairston (Louisville; Jackson, Miss.), Benji Joya (Santos Laguna; San Jose, Calif.), Mikey Lopez (Sporting Kansas City; Mission, Texas), Collin Martin (Wake Forest; Chevy Chase, Md.), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids; Brighton, Colo.), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew; Gahanna, Ohio).

FORWARDS (6): Daniel Cuevas (Santos Laguna; Sacramento, Calif.), Daniel Garcia (North Carolina; Dallas, Texas), Alfred Koroma (Akron; Southlake, Texas), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders Academy; Mercer Island, Wash.), Victor Pineda (Chicago Fire; Bolingbrook, Ill.), Omar Salgado (Vancouver Whitecaps; El Paso, Texas).

• Discuss this story on the Major League Soccer message board