SPHL Announces New 2017-2018 Playoff Format

October 16, 2017 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL)

News Release

HUNTERSVILLE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League announced on Monday a new playoff format for the upcoming 2017-2018 season:The top eight (8) finishers in the league standings will make the playoffs:

CHALLENGE ROUND (FIRST ROUND) On Sunday, April 8, the League Office will conduct a Challenge Round Selection event with all eight playoff teams partic- ipating.

For the Challenge Round, the top three teams from the regular season will have the opportunity to select their first round opponent from the teams seeded 5-8. The #1 seed will select their Challenge Round opponent first. The #2 seed will then select their opponent from the re- maining three teams, after which the #3 seed will select from the remaining two teams. The #4 seed will play the team that was not selected previously. All series are best-of-three.

SECOND ROUND The four teams that advance from the Challenge Round will play each other based on original playoff seeding, with the highest-seeded team playing the lowest and the remaining teams playing each other. Both series are best-of-three.

PRESIDENT'S CUP FINALS The two remaining teams will meet in the best-of-three President's Cup Final.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board