Mississippi\\"s Bill Zaniboni Named Goaltender of the Year

April 1, 2010 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL)

News Release

CHARLOTTE, NC - The Southern Professional Hockey League on Thursday announced that Bill Zaniboni of the Mississippi Surge has been selected as the SPHL Goaltender of the Year in a vote of league coaches and media representatives.

Columbus' Ian Vigier finished second while Huntsville's Mark Sibbald finished third in the voting.

Zaniboni led all SPHL goaltenders with four shutouts, a 2.48 goals-against average and a .921 save percentage, while his 23 wins was tied for the league-lead with Fayetteville's Guy St. Vincent. Since January 21, Zaniboni is 17-3-1 with a 2.10 goals-against average.

A native of Plymouth, MA, Zaniboni's four shutouts tied the SPHL record originally set by Fayetteville's Chad Collins during the 2004-05 season. In addition, his 2.48 goals against average is tied for second-best in league history (Chad Collins, 2004-05), just shy of the record of 2.45 set by Jacksonville's Tim Haun during the 2007-08 season.

SPHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2009-10 - Bill Zaniboni, Mississippi Surge

2008-09 - Andrew Gallant, Knoxville Ice Bears

2007-08 - Tim Haun, Jacksonville Barracudas

2006-07 - Chad Rycroft, Columbus Cottonmouths

2005-06 - Terry Denike, Florida Seals

2004-05 - Chad Collins, Fayetteville FireAntz

The SPHL will announce its Most Valuable Player on Friday.

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board