Fayetteville\\"s Josh McQuade Named Easton Most Valuable Player

April 4, 2013 - Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL)

News Release

HUNTERSVILLE, NC (April 4, 2013) - The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Thursday announced that Josh McQuade of the Fayetteville FireAntz has been selected as the Easton Most Valuable Player in a vote of league coaches, general managers and media representatives.

Louisiana's Riley Gill finished second in the voting.

McQuade led the SPHL in goals (42), points (79), power play assists (16-tied) and shots (289) and set a new SPHL record with 11 game-winning goals as he helped the FireAntz to the regular season championship. The only unanimous selection to the All-SPHL First Team, McQuade also tied for third with 37 assists while his +20 rating ranked fourth.

SPHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners

2012-13 - Josh McQuade, Fayetteville FireAntz

2011-12 - Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears

2010-11 - Matt Auffrey, Augusta RiverHawks

2009-10 - Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz

2008-09 - Travis Kauffeldt, Huntsville Havoc

2007-08 - Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears

2006-07 - Rob Sich, Fayetteville FireAntz

2005-06 - Matt Carmichael, Huntsville Havoc

2004-05 - Kevin Swider, Knoxville Ice Bears

• Discuss this story on the Southern Professional Hockey League message board