Blast Defeat Comets

January 2, 2018 - Major Arena Soccer League (MASL) - Baltimore Blast

News Release

The Blast held off a late comeback attempt from Kansas City to defeat the Comets by a score of 5-3. In front of a crowd of 4,009 fans, Jonatas Melo and Lucas Roque led the Blast with a goal and 2 assists each. Guerrero Pino had a goal and an assist for the Comets.

The Blast got off to a quick start in the game, scoring twice in the first 3 minutes. Jonatas Melo and Lucas Roque scored, with each assisting on the other's goal. Kansas City would get on the board with a goal by Kiel Williams to cut the lead in half. The Blast would answer with three straight goals in the second quarter. Daniel Peruzzi, Jon Orlando, and Andrew Hoxie (PP goal) scored to give the Blast a 5-1 lead at halftime.

The second half started out as a defensive half, as no goals were scored in the 3rd quarter. Both teams were tight defensively, limiting scoring chances and keeping the half scoreless until the 10:15 mark of the 4th quarter. Kansas City would score the only two goals of the half with the extra attacker on from goals by Guerrero Pino and Leo Gibson. The Blast were able to hold of the Comets comeback attempt for a 5-3 win.

The Blast went 1-2 on the power play while not allowing a power play opportunity for Kansas City. William Vanzela had 15 saves on the game to anchor the Blast defense. Steven Hamersky recorded 7 saves of his own for the Comets.

The Blast are back in action tomorrow, Sunday, December 31st at 3:05 p.m. CST/ 4:05 p.m. EST in Cedar Rapids to take on the Rampage. The game can be streamed at MASL.tv or on the MASL app.

MASL Match Report

Match: Kansas City Comets vs. Baltimore Blast

Date: December 30, 2017

Venue: Silverstein Eye Centers Arena, Independence, MO

Kickoff: 7:05 p.m. CST/ 8:05 p.m. EST

Attendance: 4,009

• Discuss this story on the Major Arena Soccer League message board