2013 Marcel-Robert Trophy finalists revealed

February 8, 2013 - Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL)

News Release

BOUCHERVILLE, Friday February 8, 2013 - The names of 18 candidates for the Marcel-Robert Trophy, which will be presented at the Golden Pucks Gala on April 3rd, were released today.

Each player selected receives a $400 scholarship. The three finalists will receive an additional $600 scholarship and the winner will be awarded, in addition to the Marcel-Robert Trophy, a $1 000 bursary.

"Each team submitted a lengthy file for their candidate and choosing three finalists will be very difficult," said Natacha Llorens, Director, Players Support Program, Anti-doping and Education Services. "All candidates had excellent academic records. The efforts being made by our organizations to better the academic success of our student-athletes are growing every year and the results speak for themselves. I want to congratulate all the candidates who were selected.""¨

The finalist's selection committee is composed of five members of the QMJHL administrative office: Denis Arsenault, Claude Benoist, Natacha Llorens, Valérie Monette and Marcel Patenaude along with the former recipient of the Marcel-Robert trophy (1995-96), Marc Denis.

List of team candidates

Jacob Brennan - Acadie-Bathurst

Alexandre Chênevert - Baie-Comeau

Étienne Marcoux - Blainville-Boisbriand

Stephen Woodworth - Cape Breton

Laurent Dauphin - Chicoutimi

Charles-David Beaudoin - Drummondville

Étienne Boutet - Gatineau

Zach Fucale - Halifax

Allain Saulnier - Moncton

Alex Micallef - PEI

Marc-Antoine Carrier - Québec

Jean-François Plante - Rimouski

Steven Mercier - Rouyn-Noranda

Pierre Durepos - Saint John

Frédérick Gaudreau - Shawinigan

Dominic Talbot-Tassi - Sherbrooke

Cédrick Henley - Val-d'Or

Jean-François Leblanc - Victoriaville

• Discuss this story on the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League message board