PDA

View Full Version : Why did the Samurai bears fold?

Silver Sox Fan
04-05-2007, 09:58 PM
I know this has probably been asked before but I am new to the league. I never got to see them play because the closest they got was Chico and from Reno, that is pretty much an overnight trip. I went once for Rickey but I digress...

Anyway, the concept seemed unique, the fanfare was great, it brought in some Japanese talent who played a different style of ball, and definitely created a following among many of the Japanese and those of Japanese descent.

So why did they fold? Was it because the players didn't want to be on the road all year? Was it financial? Was it because the Japanese game lacks power hitters?

Just curious as interviews from before last season made it sound like the intention was for league ownership to bring them back and put them at a "home" stadium.

Now with the "Season of the Samurai" and of course Matsuzaka, Igawa, and Iwamura now joining Ichiro and Matsui (along with a few others that impressed last year like Saito on the Dodgers) I wish I would have seen them while they were here. Having seen a Giants game it Tokyo, Japanese baseball is a unique experience and their players are realy good.

So if someone could help fill me in as the new guy, I would really appreciate it.

Keith

DawgsBooster2
04-05-2007, 10:14 PM
Having a 100% traveling team was expensive, hard on the players, hard on the staff and hard to find solid fans for.

The biggest down side for me would have been that they never got last ups. Yah, I know that seems like not that big of a deal, but when you never get that one-last-chance to come from behind... makes it hard in the end.

When they would come to San Diego the local Japanese community would come out in droves. I loved it. They would share their baseball customs and music and games. It was cool beans.