ve] GBL server infected? GBL" /> GBL server infected? [Archi<a href="http://www.devils-shadow.com/forums/wii-iso-downloads/47653-kiss-death-wii-iso-downloads.html" title="Free Wii ISO Downloads">v</a><a href="http://www.devils-shadow.com/forums/xbox-360-isos/" title="Free Xbox 360 ISO Downloads">e</a>] - OurSports Central Independent and Minor League Sports Forums

PDA

View Full Version : GBL server infected?


plasmon
08-02-2008, 10:27 AM
Tried to access the GBL website (www.goldenbaseball.com) this morning when suddenly a security pop-up came up saying the site was infected with "Trojan.Asprox" and I was prevented (by the security software on my laptop) from accessing the web site.

Anyone else seen this?

Mark

sandiegopaul
08-02-2008, 11:40 AM
:confused: Yes, I got the same message. "Warning... warning Will Robinson!"

plasmon
08-02-2008, 05:53 PM
I did a Google search on the term 'golden baseball league' and every link to the GBL site comes back on Google with a warning message: "This site may harm your computer." I didn't click on any of the found links to find out what happens.

Ouch!

MikeH
08-02-2008, 08:02 PM
I tried to access it as well and my Norton informed me a recent attack on my comouter was blocked.

Security History about the attack:

Title: An intrusion attempt by www [dot] bjxt [dot] ru was blocked.

Risk Name: HTTP Malicious Toolkit Download Activity

Risk Level: High (3 pips)

Attacking Computer: www [dot] bjxt [dot] ru (216.249.63.134, 80)

plasmon
08-03-2008, 12:22 AM
There is one silver lining, for me at least. I haven't made further attempts to connect to the GBL web site since I first got the security warning. However, it did spur me to make sure all my security software is up-to-date.

My Symantec AntiVirus was/is completely up-to-date (its automatically updated). However, my Ad-Aware and Spybot applications hadn't had their data files updated in a few months, so I updated those. I ran all three of those programs on my laptop and found only a few innocuous tracking cookies. Basically my laptop came back clean, which is something I should have been doing more regularly.

Mark

mrcool92501
08-03-2008, 11:35 AM
nod32

go to www.eset.com

jd_aka_monty
08-03-2008, 03:02 PM
MicroTrend's PcCillin, subscription software and is what is used widely in MANY large IT shops. Plus, you can use their FREE online scanning tool called, "house call". It does a pretty darn good job, for a free utility.

Monty

Viperfan
08-04-2008, 01:29 PM
I am happy with my AVG antivirus software. Good to know about the others out there. Wonder when the GBL will have their website "secured" again??

padsfan2
08-04-2008, 01:43 PM
I guess they were faced with a business decision.....Dropping a team or renewing their virus protection. I guess a team snuck through this time.

Silver Sox Fan
08-04-2008, 06:12 PM
It seems odd that they haven't fixed it or, in lieu of that, at least taken the website off-line so folks who may not have decent virus protection can avoid getting infected.

plasmon
08-05-2008, 07:38 AM
Trojan.Asprox only infects Windows machines (http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2007-060812-4603-99). I use Mac OS X at home and it is unaffected by this trojan, so I can see the GBL web site fine. I have anti-virus software on my Mac, though I have yet to be attacked/infected on my current machine (I picked up one virus about 15 years ago, and that's been it). I expect as Macs get more popular they will become more popular targets, but that time has not yet come.

Mark

daddio123450000
08-12-2008, 04:27 PM
I am an ardent crackercat fan and used to access the site regularly - but now 'NOT'. I am most concerned with the outcomes of the games and the current standings, etc and now have to go to this site where I access the Golden League website without getting the virus warnings

Softball Chick
08-12-2008, 05:14 PM
As of today I cannot access GBL or Long Beach Armada Sites :(