PDA

View Full Version : 2008-09 Alignment announced


toad455
06-11-2008, 03:46 PM
CENTRAL DIVISION
Erie
Fort Wayne
Iowa
Sioux Falls

NORTHWEST DIVISION
Colorado
Dakota
Idaho
Utah

SOUTHWEST DIVISION
Albuquerque
Austin
Rio Grande Valley
Tulsa

WEST DIVISION
Anaheim
Bakersfield
Los Angeles
Reno

DakotaWizardsFan
06-11-2008, 04:45 PM
Wow D-League. Take away our only rivalry. We'll probably play Sioux Falls 3 or 4 times this season now. I guess I see why that had to happen, but I'm still not happy with it.

DakotaWizardsFan
06-11-2008, 04:48 PM
2008-09 NBA DEVELOPMENT LEAGUE TEAM AFFILIATIONS

Albuquerque Thunderbirds (http://www.nba.com/dleague/albuquerque/)
Dallas Mavericks: None
Miami Heat: Blake Ahearn (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/blake_ahearn/index.html), Joel Anthony (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/joel_anthony/index.html), Daequan Cook (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/daequan_cook/index.html), Stephane Lasme (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/stephane_lasme/index.html), Kasib Powell (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/kasib_powell/index.html)
Anaheim Arsenal (http://www.nba.com/dleague/anaheim/)
Atlanta Hawks: Al Horford (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/al_horford/index.html), Acie Law (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/acie_law/index.html), Mario West (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/mario_west/index.html)
Los Angeles Clippers: Nick Fazekas (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/nick_fazekas/index.html), Al Thornton (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/al_thornton/index.html), Marcus Williams (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/marcus_e_williams/index.html)
Austin Toros (http://www.nba.com/dleague/austin/)
San Antonio Spurs: Ian Mahinmi (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/ian_mahinmi/index.html)
Bakersfield Jam (http://www.nba.com/dleague/bakersfield/)
Golden State Warriors: Marco Belinelli (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/marco_belinelli/index.html), Kosta Perovic (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/kosta_perovic/index.html), C.J. Watson (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/cj_watson/index.html), Brandan Wright (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/brandan_wright/index.html)
Orlando Magic: Marcin Gortat (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/marcin_gortat/index.html)
Colorado 14ers (http://www.nba.com/dleague/colorado/)
Denver Nuggets: Taurean Green (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/taurean_green/index.html)
New Jersey Nets: Sean Williams (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/sean_williams/index.html)
Dakota Wizards (http://www.nba.com/dleague/dakota)
Memphis Grizzlies: Mike Conley (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/mike_conley/index.html), Javaris Crittenton (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/javaris_crittenton/index.html), Juan Carlos Navarro (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/juan-carlos_navarro/index.html)
Washington Wizards: Dominic McGuire (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/dominic_mcguire/index.html), Oleksiy Pecherov (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/oleksiy_pecherov/index.html)
Erie BayHawks (http://www.nba.com/dleague/erie/)
Cleveland Cavaliers: Lance Allred (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/lance_allred/index.html)
Philadelphia 76ers: Herbert Hill (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/herbert_hill/index.html), Jason Smith (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jason_smith/index.html), Thaddeus Young (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/thaddeus_young/index.html)
Fort Wayne Mad Ants (http://www.nba.com/dleague/fortwayne/)
Detroit Pistons: Arron Afflalo (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/arron_afflalo/index.html), Cheikh Samb (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/cheikh_samb/index.html), Rodney Stuckey (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/rodney_stuckey/index.html)
Indiana Pacers: None
Idaho Stampede (http://www.nba.com/dleague/idaho/)
Portland Trail Blazers: Josh McRoberts (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/josh_mcroberts/index.html), Greg Oden (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/greg_oden/index.html)
Toronto Raptors: Jamario Moon (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jamario_moon/index.html)
Iowa Energy (http://www.nba.com/dleague/iowa/)
Chicago Bulls: JamesOn Curry (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jameson_curry/index.html), Aaron Gray (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/aaron_gray/index.html), Demetris Nichols (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/demetris_nichols/index.html), Joakim Noah (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/joakim_noah/index.html)
Phoenix Suns: D.J. Strawberry (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/dj_strawberry/index.html), Alando Tucker (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/alando_tucker/index.html)
Los Angeles D-Fenders (http://www.nba.com/dleague/losangeles/)
Los Angeles Lakers: Coby Karl (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/coby_karl/index.html)
Reno (http://www.nba.com/dleague/reno/)
New York Knicks: Wilson Chandler (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/wilson_chandler/index.html)
Sacramento Kings: Spencer Hawes (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/spencer_hawes/index.html)
Rio Grande Valley Vipers (http://www.nba.com/dleague/riograndevalley/)
Houston Rockets: Aaron Brooks (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/aaron_brooks/index.html), Mike Harris (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/mike_harris/index.html), Carl Landry (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/carl_landry/index.html), Luis Scola (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/luis_scola/index.html)
New Orleans Hornets: Julian Wright (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/julian_wright/index.html)
Sioux Falls Skyforce (http://www.nba.com/dleague/siouxfalls/)
Charlotte Bobcats: Jermareo Davidson (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jermareo_davidson/index.html), Jared Dudley (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jared_dudley/index.html)
Minnesota Timberwolves: Corey Brewer (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/corey_brewer/index.html), Chris Richard (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/chris_richard/index.html)
Tulsa 66ers (http://www.nba.com/dleague/tulsa/)
Milwaukee Bucks: Ramon Sessions (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/ramon_sessions/index.html), Yi Jianlan (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/yi_jianlian/index.html)
Seattle SuperSonics: Kevin Durant (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/kevin_durant/index.html), Jeff Green (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jeff_green/index.html)
Utah Flash (http://www.nba.com/dleague/utah/)
Boston Celtics: Glen Davis (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/glen_davis/index.html), Gabe Pruitt (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/gabe_pruitt/index.html)
Utah Jazz: Morris Almond (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/morris_almond/index.html), Kyrylo Fesenko (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/kyrylo_fesenko/index.html)

DakotaWizardsFan
06-11-2008, 04:50 PM
I wish our affiliates would have been changed. Washington has been our affiliate for two seasons and they haven't sent down a single player and Memphis has been our affiliate for one season and they haven't sent down anyone either.

Minor League Man
06-12-2008, 10:46 AM
CENTRAL DIVISION
Erie
Fort Wayne
Iowa
Sioux Falls

NORTHWEST DIVISION
Colorado
Dakota
Idaho
Utah

SOUTHWEST DIVISION
Albuquerque
Austin
Rio Grande Valley
Tulsa

WEST DIVISION
Anaheim
Bakersfield
Los Angeles
Reno
Link or it isn't the alignment.

abie10
06-14-2008, 03:20 PM
that sucks. I'm a BIG PHX and the Birds are no longer associated with the Suns...

Sorta glad I haven't renewed my season tickets yet :/

decisions, decisions...

jjbballfan
06-16-2008, 07:58 PM
man some of the decisions I liked, some I didn't..... Why is PHX no longer with Albuquerque and why isn't Dallas with Tulsa? Tulsa is closer to Dallas and they seemed to have a working relationship and PHX is closer to Albuquerque then Des Moines and seemed to again have a working relationship, unless maybe the teams wanted different teams or the league thought that it didn't matter......

I like Sioux Falls still being with Charlotte and the T-Wolves..... It isn't so much the players as the fact that when a player is sent down there GM's come and visit.

but yeah some question marks in the system,

bectond
06-16-2008, 08:29 PM
man some of the decisions I liked, some I didn't..... Why is PHX no longer with Albuquerque,

Kerr got upset with the Southwest basketball group (They own Albuquerque and Tulsa) They don't stay in contact with the parent clubs and I read that last year that Albuquerque went three weeks without a trainer, dudes had to tape themselves (Bush league).

and why isn't Dallas with Tulsa? Tulsa is closer to Dallas and they seemed to have a working relationship and PHX is closer to Albuquerque then Des Moines and seemed to again have a working relationship, unless maybe the teams wanted different teams or the league thought that it didn't matter......,

See above


I like Sioux Falls still being with Charlotte and the T-Wolves..... It isn't so much the players as the fact that when a player is sent down there GM's come and visit.

but yeah some question marks in the system,

Yeah it's kind of wacky right now, but after the next CBA they should have everything straight.

HKF
06-29-2008, 09:59 PM
Still three divisions. Reno will be in the Western division.

http://www.goerie.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080629/BASKETBALL04/806290471/-1/SPORTS

Central
Erie *expansion*
Sioux Falls
Fort Wayne
Iowa
Dakota

Southwest
Colorado
Tulsa
Albuquerque
Austin
Rio Grande Valley

West
Los Angeles
Reno *expansion*
Bakersfield
Anaheim
Utah
Idaho

DakotaWizardsFan
07-02-2008, 05:06 PM
That's better. That alignment makes a lot more sense. And now the Dakota-Sioux Falls rivalry can continue on.

DakotaWiz
07-02-2008, 07:08 PM
That Dakota-Erie trip won't be fun.. The only reason I don't favor that Erie expansion.. Would have made more sense to wait and let a few extra teams come in on the East Coast..

FartKnocker
07-03-2008, 02:35 AM
Three divisions is gay. I hope you are happy you got your stupid rivalry.

DakotaWizardsFan
07-03-2008, 07:20 PM
There were three divisions last year and it worked.

Plus, the rivalry isn't stupid. It makes things a lot more exciting.

USBasket_EricE
07-03-2008, 11:08 PM
That Dakota-Erie trip won't be fun

Look on the bright side... Erie is closer than Albany.

FartKnocker
07-05-2008, 02:41 AM
There were three divisions last year and it worked.

Plus, the rivalry isn't stupid. It makes things a lot more exciting.

How? None of the guys on either roster probably even played college ball in the area let alone against each other. There are no rivalries at this level. There are other teams in this league besides them!

Minor League Man
07-05-2008, 08:47 AM
Still waiting for Reno to pick their name, logo, & colors...

DakotaWizardsFan
07-05-2008, 02:25 PM
How? None of the guys on either roster probably even played college ball in the area let alone against each other. There are no rivalries at this level. There are other teams in this league besides them!

And what makes you an expert on this? Have you been to a Dakota-Sioux Falls game? Maybe it's not the same as Sioux Falls-Rapid City was (never experienced that, but I've heard it was a big rivalry) or Dakota-FM Beez was, but it's still a rivalry. We've been in the same league since 2001 and it's built since then. I'm sure the other Wizards fans on here would agree.

And yes, there are other teams in the league, of course. What's your point?

DakotaWiz
07-05-2008, 03:00 PM
Haha, this guy has posted 11 times and had negative things to say everytime. I see nothing wrong with 3 divisions. I would like to hear the alternative argument however. Also, in related news, I hear the Wizards are close to naming an assistant coach..